My (Neighbor’s) Sunday Garden

Here it is Sunday evening. I waited for the early evening to go out and get some pictures of my neighbor’s front garden. She is an avid gardener.

Well, she wasn’t home. Just the cat and her dogs, which were barking up a storm when I went over there. Since she wasn’t home, I am going to tell you right now – I don’t know the names of some of these plants.

Since I waited until dusk, the mosquitos were out in force.

Ok, here we go. This is a Rose of Sharon. I used to have some of these, but they got to much water one summer and they were gone. See my fence? I really am just next door.

roseofsharon

whitesharon

We always had this flower when I was a child. I used to make dolls out of them. See the big buds? I used them for the doll head and the flower was the dress, tie it together with some dandelion and clover stems – use your imagination.

redbird

She has a couple of fountain/sculptures in her garden.

metalbird

Her garden is like mine, very hodge podge. She actually spends a lot of time to give it the casual look.

neighborcat

Her little cat surprised me or I surprised him. I had to coax him back to get the picture. Cute

fouroclock

The smell of these four o’clock flowers is incredible. Very sweet smelling

She has peppers and tomatoes in pots on the front patio.

peppers

Ok, here is one of those plants I don’t know the name of. It is a pretty mean looking plant, just saying. To me it looks related to a holly?

what

Her Caladiums are growing in the pots they came in. Pretty cool looking succulent.

succlent

This two tone Vinca is pretty. I was looking it up and found out it is poisonous and I think the Caladiums are too.

phlox

The Vinca grows like a weed and enjoys the hot dry weather.

devilstick

I have no clue what these yellow flowers are, but they are pretty awesome.

The neighbor has this great little pond with a cool poured concrete leaf fountain, but the mosquitos will eat you up over here. She has a couple of Koi in the pond. Sorry not pictures.

fountain

What about these sweet little “lemon slice” petunias. I remember when she got these she said they will come back next year. Looks like she needs to do a little weeding. Just saying. Ok, I take that back after all she is nice enough to let me photograph her garden, weeds and all. Oops, there I go again. Thanks neighbor your garden is awesome.

candystrip

Ok, back in my yard, no she did not kick me out. Remember, she is not home. Anyway, back in my yard the crepe myrtles are in full bloom. Yes, the neighbor has some beautiful crepe myrtles, but the mosquitos were really getting me.

crepes

Here is a picture of my Palatka holly. I wonder what took a bite out of the leaf. I hope you enjoyed visiting my neighbor’s garden. I will have to sneak back over there in a few months. Did I say sneak, I did not sneak over there I am sure all the other neighbors saw me over there and were wondering what I was up to. Trust me she will know I was there.

bitten

Have a great Sunday. Enjoy the day. Oh, and what do you think about the dragonfly sitting on the top of her well?
 

 

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

