My Sunday Garden – In the WayBack

Sweet Sunday. Got up early to check out the back back yard this morning. No that is not a typo. The Three Painted Owls spread is 3.5 acres which I know to some is not much and to others it is to much, but for us it is just right.  In the Summer time it can get away from us if, we don’t keep at it every week.

So, we have a backyard proper and then we have the Way Back which for the most part we keep in a natural state. Yes, Mr. U does mow back there occasionally to keep the pine trees from springing up, but for the most part it is what it is.

We have wild bunnies in the Spring along with turkeys, raccoons, and if you recall we had a fox (you can see a picture here) in the early Summer. We used to have quite a few deer, but I think our neighbor has disturbed the brush in his yard to much lately. Hopefully, they will come back.

Speaking of that neighbor, he recently built a chicken coop in his way back, don’t know if he is aware of the fox?

Ok, talk, talk, talk. How about some pictures. Lots of ferns and moss back there

nature

more ferms

fungus

I think the deer like to eat this stuff

thegrapes

I know something likes our grapes. Remember how many green ones we had? Take a look in the archives, you will find them. Come back when you are done looking.

I did sample these, ok it was more than a sample. Yummy. Fresh off the vine, what could taste any better?

antbed

OOps, almost stepped on this, ant condo? I thought they only had one hole? What is going on here? Ok, the next two pictures I have no idea what kind of plants they are, but I like the colors and shapes.

prettyweed

horton

Does the above picture remind anyone else of “Horton Hears a Who” or is just me?

nnhortn

Just saying.  Ok, how about some palmettos

palmettos

The youngster used to play back here. This little rise was all dirt and he drove those trucks around hauling dirt up and down. Sigh… those were the good ol’ days. Now I have to seat in the passenger seat while he is driving us around in a real car. Talk about scary. Let’s get back to the garden shall we.

toyjunkyard

tree stump

I know it just a tree stump, but the texture is awesome. I just love it.

bluemorning

How about this little wild blue morning glory?

mushy

Ok, these are not in the way back I was getting eaten alive by mosquitos so I am back out front in the side garden.

dappled

Zinnias, who doesn’t love them? zinniii

I think that is all I have today. Going to pick up a church pew this afternoon, maybe I’ll have a chance to show it to you this week. Enjoy

 

 

One thought on “My Sunday Garden – In the WayBack

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

