My Sunday Garden – Hot and Neglected

I am trying not to whine, but this Summer is getting away from me to fast. What started out with such promise is sliding down hill into neglect and disinterest.

Why? Time, rain, heat, to much work, and on it goes. I am always so excited when the weather starts to warm up and days get long until, the sun gets so miserably hot you can’t stand to be outside.

This is the time of year when I just say the heck with it, I am going to the beach.

I did go out this morning to try and find something that might interest me and you, well here goes.
heisdead

Beautiful right? Sorry, it is dead 😦

neglected

Yes, we have this lovely shady spot and would you look at that. There are sticks in the hammock, we just don’t seem to have the time right now to lay back and relax.

 

grapes of wrath

What is going on here? The leaves of the grapes are burning up and the grapes are disappearing? These are purple grapes and I am beginning to think that by the time they turn, there will not be any. I have a suspicion that the deer are having nightly snacks. Remember when they looked like this

grapeswithpost

Like I said, we think raccoons are eating them or maybe deer. We can’t pick them since they are purple grapes.

Ok, I am done whining and it is now 9 o’clock Sunday evening.  The pears are still looking pretty awesome. These are cooking pears so I will have to come up with some recipes or maybe pear jam?

pears

zinnias

The zinnias like this hot weather and they add a great splash of color to the garden.

stringoftoms

Picked a bunch of grape tomatoes for this evening’s salad. Yum, they are so sweet. Now how about that beach trip I mentioned early. There have not been any waves to speak of the last two weekends, but who cares, it’s the beach!

atlanticbeachjune21

walking1

Trudging along behind the youngster

vird

This guy was not afraid of us. He must have been looking for a hand out. Sorry, we didn’t bring any food.

snowdogs

Funny little altered sign at the beach

nowaves

And the youngster, looking for waves. Maybe next weekend. Oh, actually, I will have a surprise for you next weekend. Someone else’s garden. Check back. Enjoy

 

 

 

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

