Vintage Friday – Needlepoint and Other Nonsense

Crewel, embroidery, needlework, needlepoint, petit point, and the stuff from the 70’s. What is the difference? I want to show you some needlepoint made by my Great Grandmother, but first I had to look up the correct terminology.

needlepoint – Decorative needlework on canvas, usually in a diagonal stitch covering the entire surface of the material.

I had no idea there were so many different terms for these things. I now know it depends on what type of material, needles, yarn, thread, etc.

The ones I have for you today were stitched by my Great Grandmother. This was one of her favorite activities and when I think of her, I always envision her with her needlepoint in her lap.

The first one is part of a set of which I have one and my niece the always lovely Jessica Claire has the other.

Blue Boy – looks fairly simple until you get a close-up look. The face is done in what would be called petit point. That I understand, and one of his hands I get it, but what I don’t get is why she did his knee that way?

blueboy

check out the stitches on the knee

check out the stitches on the knee

I also have a couple of pillows that she made. What amazes me is the staying power of the colors. I know the yarn is a wool, but I don’t know what process was used for dying the yarn, but whatever, was used the colors have really held up.

hummingbirds

This pillow is my favorite a) because it was made by someone I loved b) Awesome pinks c) it has a flower motif

pinks

 

The next ones I have picked up at different places. I feel bad when I see someone’s handmade works at the thrift store. I always wonder why they were given away. I know, I am just a sentimental sop and yes, I do collect up other peoples stuff that….. I eventually sell to someone else to love.

I am just about sure my boys will not appreciate the stuff I have held onto from my Grandmothers and Great Grandmothers and it will end up in the thrifts and… I don’t want to think about it right now. Let’s just enjoy what we have today.

I don’t know what the 70’s needle work kits were called. I do know this stuff is back in style and I can see why. I like the whimsical look of the flowers.

floppy

flowerbasket

70

I just got these horses. I am taking them up to my space at Southern Crossing. Wouldn’t they look cute in little boy’s room?

doublehorses

horse2

horse1

Don’t the horses remind you of a paint-by-number? Just saying.

This next one for some reason reminds me of the seashore. I want to make it into a pillow. Don’t laugh it could happen.

seashore

busy

Hope you enjoyed taking a peak at my Vintage needlework today. Hopefully, next week I will have time to dig a little deeper. This week I was tied up at a conference in Ft. Lauderdale, FL. I know poor me. Me and my hotel room.

me1

Well, this is all I got to see while I was there besides a conference room that is for…. 11 hours a day.

fountain1

park

golfcourse

Sad, huh?  The hotel parking lot and the golf course which we did not get to use. I really wanted to get down to the beach, which was about 20 minutes away. Not. Side note, Mr. U and the youngster evidently had a great time while I was gone – no one bossing them around. Well, I am back. Just saying.

Yeah, for being home. Enjoy.

 

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

 

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

