Friday Quickie

Running in circles this week. Every feel like you are in the movie “Groundhog Day?” That has been my week. I sold a large piece up at Southern Crossing so I had to quickly get something else to take it’s place.

I found this sturdy but not so cute looking table and thought I would have time to really do something unique with it before the other piece sold, not. So, I used my good ol’ stand by homemade chalk paint.

I am loving the Valspar flat nautical blue.

Just a reminder on how to make your own chalk paint

Any color flat latex paint
plaster of paris
throw away cup

Pour about a cup of paint into your throw away container and then add a tablespoon of plaster of paris.
Stir until most of the lumps are gone. Keep adding the plaster of paris and stirring after each addition until you get the consistency of pudding

Paint it on your piece
Let it dry
Lightly sand
Paint on another coat
Let it dry
Sand until you are happy with the look – I like the shabby look, so I sand the edges back to give it a worn look
Put a coat of paste wax on all the painted areas
Buff (a lot) put some muscle into.
and Voila, you have a lovely new piece of furniture

nautical table1

took this with my cell phone. Sorry. Below is the before.

beforetable

It amazes me every time what a difference a coat of paint can make. Enjoy the day. Summer starts tomorrow.

 

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

