Damsel in Distress Before and After

What a day. Started at 4:00 am. Up to get the youngster off on a end-of-year field trip. It is now going on 8 pm and do not expect them back before 9 ish. I wonder if anyone will notice if I take a nap in the school parking lot while I am awaiting his return?  I want to tell you about this awesome transformation. Actually, I would really like to take that nap.

Just kidding, sort of. I know the title of this post is about a Damsel in Distress Before and After. I am getting to it..

This took place last Saturday morning.

This girl was most definitely a damsel in distress. As I zoomed by her, bouncing over the railroad tracks and taking a curve at the same time, I saw out of the corner of my eye this little beauty flipped over on her head. I slammed on the brakes, backed up and pulled over. Ok, I didn’t slam on the brakes, but I did stop quickly.

So, as I stood on the side of the road looking at her I thought she has to be over 4 ft long and I don’t know how wide and…. well does it matter, she is not going to fit in the back seat of my little Toyota. If I left her alone on the side of the road she would surely be gone when I got back to rescue her with the truck.

I have missed to many of these opportunities lately. I was not going to miss this one.

Am I losing you? Ok, I will show you a before

Lovely, isn't she

Lovely, isn’t she

See what I mean? How could I leave this awesome girl? Eureka! I had it!!

I was going to take her drawers! Not all 6, just 5 of them, after all I felt bad enough about leaving her stranded on the side of the road. Now she looked pathetic, for sure. I mean who would want just the frame and one drawer? Not me. If “they” (whoever they may be) if “they” wanted her that bad then she was theirs.

I frantically began calling whoever I knew that had a truck within 20 miles (Mr. Understanding was out at the home improvement store with his truck) He would not be my first choice for pick up since we did just finish up a garage sale and he is thinking we are thinning out the herd, so to speak. Did I mention he is so understanding.

My next door neighbor did not answer her phone and  the lovely neighbors from across the road weren’t home. I left messages for them so they would know this was a life or death matter. Guess it worked since my across the road neighbors did go down and pick her up for me. Thanks neighbors.

I wasn’t there when they got her, but they were a little curious as to why I would want a dirty filthy dresser with only one drawer?

See, I thought to myself  “I am a genius, nobody wants a dresser with one drawer.”

Don’t worry I told them, I know where the rest of the drawers are at. Genius I tell you. Why haven’t I thought of that before?

Well, when I got back home I saw this dresser had been given a name. Do you see it? She is a girl. Hailey Girl. Ok, I am stopping, but I just can’t.

Hailey

Hailey

Now why would anyone get rid of a dresser that they had gone to all the trouble to name? Beats me, but she is soon going to have a new home where they will love her.

Alright, I am stopping. Enough of this nonsense let me show you the transformation. After a lot of elbow grease and some DIY Chalk paint mixed up with Valspar Flat Nautical Blue she is truly a stunner, if I say so myself, and I do. I even lined the drawers with some plastic like wrapping paper.

I even lined the drawers

I even lined the drawers

and for the full reveal

Beautiful

Beautiful

Amazing. She is now resting up at Southern Crossing. I am hoping someone will come in this weekend and not be able to leave without her.

Hope you enjoyed this little tale of a Damsel in Distress. Maybe, it should have been a story about an Ugly Duckling. I must still be tired.

Enjoy.

 

 

 

 

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

