Vintage Friday – Dusty Ol’ Stuffy

Well everything I got out to show you today was dusty. First, I took pictures dust and all because I thought “it’s vintage so nobody is going to mind a little dust” Right? Wrong. When I started looking at the pictures all I could see was the dust.

I did clean up some of them and retook pictures but, it’s raining again today so… I don’t know what that has to do with anything except it makes me want to curl up with a good book. It sure doesn’t make me want to dust.

Once again I have a few things that belonged to my Grandmother King. I am amazed she had so much stuff because that lady kept her house spick and span.

I have a picture of her father taken in 1926 down in Orlando, Florida. He sent her the picture and a sweet little card. She would have been 20 years old in 1926.

note

Ben Hill Cawthon born 1876

Ben Hill Cawthon born 1876

Below is how Orlando would have looked in 1926. This is South Orange Ave. The picture shows some neon signs which evidently the first neon signs were imported from France in 1922

 

This is Orange Ave

This is Orange Ave

The picture of my Great Grandfather was taken on this street

this is on the back of the picture folder

this is on the back of the picture folder

I never saw my Grandmother wear very much jewelry but, here is some costume stuff she had

Isn't the turquoise and silver bracelet right in style today

Isn’t the turquoise and silver bracelet right in style today

She also had this little tiny ring. The setting is called a basket setting

Look at the little filigree hearts.

Look at the little filigree hearts.

I don’t know who gave her this ring since I never saw it until she passed away

must have been a sweetheart ring

must have been a sweetheart ring

One more pretty pearl necklace

this looks like some of trends of today's jewelry

looks like some of today’s trends in jewelry

My Grandfather's Sears Silvertone radio

My Grandfather’s Sears Silvertone radio

knobs1

One more thing I want to show you today is this awesome piece of art created by my Aunt Marty.

You have to click on these pictures and make them bigger so you can see the awesome details of this piece.

pine loveit wowo

This is made from rocks. She made it back in the 70’s. The colors still look pretty awesome today. It is only about 6 inches tall so that tells you those are little tiny rocks all individually painted and glued on the larger rocks.

Have a great weekend and if you can’t find anything else to do….go dust 🙂 Enjoy

 

 

2 thoughts on “Vintage Friday – Dusty Ol’ Stuffy

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

