I’m Telling You it’s Like Magic – DIY Chalk Paint

I love painted furniture I hate painting furniture, that is until I discovered how to make chalk paint. Yes, I know there are many sites out there giving you the recipe for DIY chalk paint but, I feel the need to put in my two cents.

This simple recipe makes painting furniture well, fun. Painted furniture is still a hot trend and the customers at Southern Crossing can’t seem to get enough of it.

I started off painting furniture with a paint sprayer that Mr. Understanding bought for me as a Christmas present. What? Well, I was not pleased… and so the thing sat in the closet for about 4 maybe 5 years. I mean would you want a paint sprayer for Christmas? All I could think was gee thanks, just what I wanted. My second thought was how could he buy me something that is just going to make a big mess and you do know you have to clean those things after you use them.

Well, one day after sanding and painting and sanding and painting and brushstrokes all over the place….I decided I would give the stupid sprayer a try.

Oh my, that thing was wonderful. Nice even coats, no dripping, beautiful. I was hooked, at least until I had to clean up. Now, it wasn’t so bad but, I am the kind of person that wants to do as little clean up as possible what can I say, it’s just the way I am. Making messes equals fun. Cleanup equals work.

I have used that sprayer now for about 3 years and I still love it but, I like to change it up and so I went to spray paint. Yum, the new spray paints out there are really nice. They dry quick, don’t seem to run and the colors are lovely. The turquoise and ocean blue colors are very popular along with orange or red and of course black and white.

As much as I like my sprayer and the easy spray paints, I absolutely love DIY chalk paint. This stuff sticks like glue.

Materials you will need for this project:

  • Any color flat latex paint
  • unsanded tile grout
  • or plaster of paris
  • paint brush
  • stirrer
  • small plastic containers
  • tablespoon
  • sand paper
  • paste wax

You can use any flat latex paint.

For the lighter colors I have been using plaster of paris instead of the tile grout.

You can find plaster of paris at Lowes and it is less expensive than buying it at a craft store. It comes in a container that looks like a paper milk carton.

For the darker colors paints I use the black unsanded tile grout.

The recipe is one cup of paint to 2 tablespoons of plaster of paris (PoP) or grout.

  • Pour a cup of paint into a small plastic container (I use 9oz plastic disposable cups)
  •  Stir the grout/PoP into the paint. Don’t worry if it has any little lumps you can work those out when you paint
  • If the paint doesn’t look thick enough, just add a little more grout/PoP. The consistency you are looking for is that of a nice thick milkshake

Once you get the consistency, start brushing it on. You don’t have to be perfect.

Because of the grout the paint will start drying pretty quickly.

Why only make a cup at a time? Because it drys up quickly.

Let the paint dry and then put on another coat. You may have some little lumps and bumps but that is ok.

Once the second coat is dry get out your sander and yes, Mr. Understanding gave me one of those for some other holiday/birthday. Got to love him.

Ok, now sand using 100 grit sandpaper. Just sand til it is smooth or if you want the shabby look sand down to the wood on the edges, your choice.

If you like the look, stop if not paint on another coat, dry and then sand again.

Once you get it like you want, You will need to put a coat of wax over the paint to keep it from getting scratched. I just use a Johnson paste wax that I get from Lowes.

The finish is a very soft smooth look.
What else? This is a very simple process and the finished look is outstanding.
The chalkboard in the top picture was painted with black flat latex mixed with black unsanded tile grout.

 

Here are some pictures of furniture and things I have painted with this DIY chalk paint

This old vanity was painted with several coats of DIY chalk paint and then waxed

This old vanity was painted with several coats of DIY chalk paint and then waxed

That is one thing I want to tell you. This paint will cover up that old dark stain that is on a lot of this old furniture. It does not bleed through. Love it
before table1

Sweet little side table. I think this was a handmade table from the 40's or 50's had ugly dark stain

Sweet little side table. I think this was a handmade table from the 40’s or 50’s had ugly dark stain

 

Mirror painted with white DIY chalk paint. I didn't even take out the mirror. Just used a razor blade to easily scrape off any paint on the mirror.

Mirror painted with white DIY chalk paint. I didn’t even take out the mirror. Just used a razor blade to easily scrape off any paint on the mirror.

Remember this project? DIY chalk paint

Remember this project? DIY chalk paint

If you want to try something new, DIY chalk paint might be the way to go.  Enjoy

tellall

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

