Vintage Friday – Avonlea Antique Mall and a MidCentury Before and After

I had a few minutes to spare the other day so I took a little field trip through a local Antique Mall. This place is huge and I mean huge, 40,000 square feet worth of huge. They told me they have over 200 dealers. Avonlea was opened in 1995 and is open everyday. They have an awesome café for lunch. They make great chicken salad and the desserts are enormously good. Sadly, the café was already closed for the day when I got there.

There is something for everyone to look at in this place. Yes, I said look at because just my opinion the prices are how do I say “a little pricey.” I think and maybe I am biased but, Southern Crossing Antique Mall has equally awesome stuff but, the prices are much easier to deal with. Ok, and I have a booth at Southern Crossing.

I think I am getting off track so, let’s take a look at what Avonlea has:

Rustic goods, not sure how much of this is antique, but still nice

Rustic goods, not sure how much of this is antique, but still nice

This person had some very unique shell creations

This person had some very unique shell creations

Again rustic, little blurry I took this with my phone. I like the shelves made with the shutters

Again rustic, little blurry I took this with my phone. I like the shelves made with the shutters

Looking down an aisle. Actually this place is so big the aisles have street names

Looking down an aisle. Actually this place is so big the aisles have street names

For you midcentury modern lovers, I thought this desk was pretty cool.

For you midcentury modern lovers, I thought this desk was pretty cool.

Lots of heads. I know these were popular collectors items. Are they still? Not sure since there are a lot here

Lots of heads. I know these were popular collectors items. Are they still? Not sure since there are a lot here

Trains this booth had a lot of vintage things wish I would have taken more pictures

Trains this booth had a lot of vintage things wish I would have taken more pictures

The staging in this booth was very pleasing. I really like the garden chair

The staging in this booth was very pleasing. I really like the garden chair

There were lots of these glass cases just full of stuff.

There were lots of these glass cases just full of stuff.

There were two of these awesome pink chairs. I could never have anything like this in a house full of men. sigh...

There were two of these awesome pink chairs. I could never have anything like this in a house full of men. sigh…

This is more like what would fit in at my house. The upholstery was wool

This is more like what would fit in at my house. The upholstery was wool

Look on the floor, they have to tell you which way to the front door!

Look on the floor, they have to tell you which way to the front door!

This is a bit blurry, sorry. cool display for hats

This is a bit blurry, sorry. cool display for hats

big section of vintage fashion

big section of vintage fashion

More fashion

More fashion

So this is just a sampling of what this place has. If you want to know more about them the website is  http://avonleamall.com/

Ok, if you have a couple more minutes I want to show you a before and after of a Mid Century modern piece. Remember the desk at Avonlea, well if I had that desk I would probably paint it. I just love to paint everything. It  drives Mr. Understanding crazy. You know he is a carpenter by trade and so he is not a real fan of painted wood. Sometimes these old pieces are just begging for a facelift.

Here is a dark and depressing little night stand I found at a thrift.

before nithg

and yes, I also painted the piano bench (bright red) I have tried to sell these pieces without painting them but, I have much better luck when I paint them.

Here is the after of the night stand

Now don't you think this is much better?

Now don’t you think this is much better?

I decoupaged the top because the paint doesn’t always adhere nicely to the laminate tops

Music sheets decoupage to the top

Music sheets decoupage to the top

Happy Friday. Enjoy.

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

