Vintage Friday – Games and Storybooks

Good Friday. Spring is in the air, rain is in the air also but, that is getting to be a daily event around here. Since we are inside today, I thought I would show you a couple of vintage games and some adorable story books.

Vintage story books always seem to have bunnies, ducks, and other cute little animals so, I picked out some pages with those in mind. I am amazed at the outstanding color on these illustrations. I am drawn to the illustrations of the late 30’s and into the mid 50’s because the illustrations have a softness to them that is very appealing to me.

The same seems to go for the games, the colors just really hold up but, have a soft look.

Let’s take a look at one of my favorite story books, Chippy Chipmunk’s Vacation. copyrighted originally in 1938 this printing 1947. Summer has come and Chippy wants a vacation. Browsing the chapter titles it looks like Chippy is going to have quite a few adventures from exploring Secret Tunnels, A Strange Ride, to Fun with Strangers. Some how I don’t think any of those Chapter Titles would work in a 3rd grade reader of today. There is an interest couple pages at the back of the book that states: This book introduces 488 new words and repeats 726 words used in the first and second year books. Nice 488 new words.

Here are a few pics from Chippy’s Vacation

Chippy Chipmunk's Vacation

Chippy Chipmunk’s Vacation

 

Mr Jack Rabbit

Mr Jack Rabbit

 

Another sweet story book I have is Our New Friends again, this is a school reader copyrighted in 1946. This book introduces 178 new words, looks like second or third grade.

Our New Friends

Our New Friends

 

1946-47

1946-47

 

Great Picture

Great Picture

 

Lovely bright colors

Lovely bright colors

 

Poor little Robin

Poor little Robin

Ok, now let’s look at a couple of awesome games. First, a Chinese checkerboard that belonged to my Dad and his brother. I don’t think my Dad is really interested in Chinese checkers so, that is why I am holding the board for safekeeping. Besides, I love this thing. One side is Chinese checkers and the other side is regular checkers. It is constructed of heavy cardboard with a light weight wooden frame. It was made in 1938 by the Gotham Pressed Steel Corporation. The best part – Made in United States of America.

My Grandmother gave me some checkers and marbles to go with this board but, she said they were not the original ones. That’s ok.

Chinese checkers

Chinese checkers

 

here you can see the manufacturer info

here you can see the manufacturer info

Now for the icing. The Uncle Wiggly game! I never played this game and went I got this one I never looked at it very closely until today.

I had no idea that Uncle Wiggly had rheumatism and the object of the game is to get him to Dr. Possum’s office.  He also has a housekeeper/nurse Jane Fuzzy Wuzzy who lives with him. I am not sure why we need to know that? Too Funny.

Here are some pics. I added a some of my little vintage animals just to spice it up.

Object of the game

Object of the game

What is a Pipsisewah and why is he bad?

What is a Pipsisewah and why is he bad?

The Fox den along with my little vintage fox

The Fox den along with my little vintage fox

 

Bow Wow Dog House and one of my little vintage dogs.

Bow Wow Dog House and one of my little vintage dogs.

 

Not really vintage 1999 but, vintage like

Not really vintage 1999 but, vintage like

Here is  a pic of the whole board

 

Uncle Wiggly

Uncle Wiggly

 

I like the part that states: We will be glad to answer inquires concerning the rules. What questions could you have and you have to send them a letter. I wonder how many people wrote asking questions?

we will

Love it. Enjoy your Friday.

2 thoughts on “Vintage Friday – Games and Storybooks

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

