Wedding Wednesday Toppers and Ways to Add a Pop of Your “Colors”

So, who exactly started the trend of having certain colors for weddings? Isn’t that one of the first things the bride-to-be is asked when she announces to her friends and family that the big question has been popped? Doesn’t it go something like oh, let me see your ring and what are the colors going to be? I guess now it is not only colors it is a whole theme. Well lucky for the DIY brides out there right now cause the current theme of “vintage trendy pinterest” is a very friendly theme. It basically says, do what you love or at least what you like. I will get back to the color thing in a minute first, I want to talk about cake toppers first and I would love to see and here what you have to say.

I have been thinking about wedding cake toppers lately, don’t ask me why, I just have. Maybe because they are such an easy fun way to personalize your wedding. You can use just about anything from pictures or silhouettes of you and your intended to your initials in every kind of material possible and birds…..pause…. I couldn’t figure that out at first and then it dawned on me, duh love birds. I just didn’t make the connection because all the little birds I am seeing as toppers just don’t look like they are in love. They just look like birds on top of the cake. Ok, don’t get mad if you are or did use birds as your cake topper. I am just saying the ones I have seen don’t look that lovely dovey. Now that would make sense doves.

Well lets move on because, after you see the cake topper I made for you today you are probably going to say, what in the world and she was saying birds don’t look right?

I just thought I would have a little fun and get you to think out of the box about this cake topper stuff, so here goes

 

Ok, what do you think? Pretty awesome, huh? I think the bride has been walking around in the cake

Ok, what do you think? Pretty awesome, huh? I think the bride has been walking around in the cake

Let me tell you about this picture. yes those are toys, I hot glued a veil to her head. You might recognize the wooden letters as scrabble pieces. Pretty darn easy. Just think of all the possibilities if you used toys. You could even paint them to match your theme. Or maybe a little paper top hat for the Groom would be cute.

Here is a picture of the same cake without the toys

This one I added a burlap banner attached to two wooden skewers

This one I added a burlap banner attached to two wooden skewers

Pretty but not as whimsical. Which one do you like?  Remember if you start planning early you can come up with all kinds of clever toppers. Everything you see in the picture I picked up at thrifts and yard sales. I had time to collect. You can get a scrabble letters at yard sales, thrift stores, and at some stores like Southern Crossing dealers are selling jars of scrabble letters. I think you can probably find them by the jar on places like etsy.

Here is a pretty picture without the cake

Pretty.

Pretty.

ha ha I had this setup outside to take a picture when Mr. Understanding came home and he was curious as to why this was the “best day ever?” I will have to discuss that with him a little later. He is so understanding. If he helps me clean up I will give him a piece of cake.

When I went through Southern Crossing the other day, I came across some cute toppers. Don’t forget to check out the antique stores when you are looking for your wedding decorations, you might be surprised by what you come across.

I love this one

I love this one

Sorry the next one is a little blurred but, you get the idea

Very vintage cute

Very vintage cute

Now do you want to see some dishes? I was in an Antique Mall by the name of Avonlea the other day and I saw lots of colored glass dishes.

I know some of these are art glass, depression glass, etc. but for this post they will be referred to as colored glass after all we are talking about how to add a little pop of your color to your wedding reception.  Right? Anyway, I saw quite a bit of colored glass and thought that would be a great way to add in your color even if you only used it at your sweet heart table or the head table. I did not look at the prices but, I do know if you start early you could probably find plenty of colored glass dishes at yard sales, estate sales, and the thrifts. If you have never been in a thrift store you should definitely give it a try. No one has to know where you got it.

Awesome

Awesome

This would be beautiful for a summer wedding

This would be beautiful for a summer wedding

 

Plum is a very popular color right now

Plum is a very popular color right now

 

See there is more blue back there. This color would look great with burlap accents and white roses

See there is more blue back there. This color would look great with burlap accents and white roses

That’s all I have for today. Enjoy. I am going to eat cake with Mr. Understanding and talk to him about why this is the “Best Day Ever” but, isn’t everyday? Oh, one more thing. Click on my Pinterest button and you can see some of those bird toppers I have pinned on my Wedding board

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Wedding Wednesday Toppers and Ways to Add a Pop of Your “Colors”

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

