Before and After Pine Wall Display or 1980s Country Duck to Awesome Vintage

I am excited about this before and after project I have for you today. I am sure everyone has at least seen and maybe had in their home some of the country pine shelves and wall displays that were so popular in the 80’s. This was during the decorating era of ceramic ducks, furniture with cut out hearts, muslin curtains with rows of ruffles, and  lots of things made with pine and stained “country oak.” Ok, I made up the stain color but, do you remember this stuff? Every mall in the South use to have Craft Shows and every booth was full of this stuff. Do they still have mall Craft Shows?

These days all the little ducks, cut out heart furniture pieces and pine wall displays and shelves seem to have landed in the thrifts and flea markets. When I am out thrifting I see this stuff all the time and just pass it by. Still don’t know what I am talking about? Here is a wall display made from pine and has a lovely wooden bow attached.

These were all the rage in the 80's and would have probably been loaded with little ceramic ducks

These were all the rage in the 80’s and would have probably been loaded with little ceramic ducks

Now if this is your style, then please enjoy. One thing that is pretty awesome about these pine display pieces is that they are much sturdier than the stuff made today and I think they were built to last. I am pretty sure that most of them were made in workshops across America. Today’s comparables are not as sturdy and are all made in China.

So, after a little stroll through my local Home Goods on Monday I realized that maybe these pine pieces aren’t so bad. Yes, they need updating but, that’s what I love to do.

Let’s get started. You see the before above now let’s look at the after.

You would never know it is the same piece. Awesome!

You would never know it is the same piece. Awesome!

 

Here are a few pictures of the process

 

first things first, I got rid of the wooden bow

first things first, I got rid of the wooden bow

 

painted it with homemade chalk paint

painted it with homemade chalk paint

 

Didn’t get any good pictures but, the next step was to sand back the chalk paint. After that was done, I took a heavy piece of cardboard and cut it  to fit the back of the display then I spray glued a piece of burlap on to the cardboard and attached the whole thing to the back of the display. What do you think? Hope you enjoyed this transformation from “ugly duck” to Vintage Style Awesome.

 

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

