Before and After Vintage “Over the Sofa Print”

“Dinosaurs are extinct but, they are alive and well in our imagination”

Now how could dinosaurs have anything to do with a before and after post? I enjoy repurposing things that have lost their “shine” and one of those things I love repurposing is old “sofa pictures.” You know the ones I am talking about, they are printed on the heavy cardboard and generally have some type of landscape theme, or big bouquets of flowers. Usually, I just paint over the picture and voilà, I have a blank canvas that is already framed.  Here is an example of a new painting on an old picture.

This a picture I painted of a friend's dog. I used an old picture to paint on

This a picture I painted of a friend’s dog. I used an old picture to paint on

Below is another of these old “sofa pictures”  I am going to use dinosaurs for the transformation and bring it right back in style. Kind of boring but, still has great color and a nice frame.

this picture is about 4ft long and has a lovely landscape. All the rage back in the day

this picture is about 4ft long and has a lovely landscape. All the rage back in the day

Here is the “after” with dinosaurs decoupaged into the picture. I will try to get a better picture, so you can see the whole thing.

dino22

 

One thought on “Before and After Vintage “Over the Sofa Print”

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

