Hall Bench Before and After

What a beauty

What a beauty

Top of the Mornin’ to ya. Happy St. Patrick’s Day. Today I want to show you a before and after. When I brought this beauty home, Mr. Understanding was confused as to why I would bring home something that was so ugly and it was missing something to boot.

Well, he was much happier when he heard he did not have to take part in the renewal of this cast off beauty. I am not sure what he was afraid of? Yes, it was missing something but, did he think he was going to have to build a new piece using his handy dandy carpentry skills? He knew I was thinking how easy it would be for him to just build a new little tabletop, after all the holes were already there. Alas, my dreams were dashed. I was not going to involve him in this project, especially after he wanted to know “why was I always bringing home things that were broken, missing pieces, or “gasp” other people’s trash.”

So, I would have to deal with the mystery holes. I decided to let the bench “cure for a few days while I thought about my color choices.

This was a quick and easy project once I made the decision on the color. (yes, it does take some thought process, even if the colors turn out to be white and cream, thank you very much). The cushion was held on with 4 screws which I got off without any help from Mr. Understanding. Sometimes I do need his muscle but, this time the screws weren’t stripped or rusted on thank goodness, because I was not going to let him in on this project after he so much as said,.. well you know what he said.

I flipped over the cushion and stapled on the cream canvas material. Then I got out my trusty paint sprayer ( I love that thing but, I don’t like the clean up. Sadly, sometimes it doesn’t get cleaned right away and then I have to spend extra time cleaning the next time I start a project) best thing to do if you have a paint sprayer is clean up right when you are done, it is much easier, just saying. Also, you should make sure you know which way the wind is blowing before you start painting, again, I am just saying.

Ok, I got it painted, let it dry. I am always in a big hurry so this drying part is always an issue, luckily it was a nice warm day. I got the newly re-covered cream cushion back on and wahla.

Uh-oh. I still had those holes where that mystery piece had been. Bummer. I decided my next plan of action would be to let the bench sit for a few days instead of messing it up with something that wasn’t going to be right. In other words, I went on to another project because I didn’t know what I was going to do to fill the holes.

I knew I wouldn't be able to get Mr. Understanding to make a new top so..

I knew I wouldn’t be able to get Mr. Understanding to make a new top so..

Yes, those are buttons. I glued them over the holes using E6000 and the rest they say, is history. I thought about outlining the whole laminate piece with buttons, and then; I thought again. I think it turned out great. What do you think?

I think it looks great. You would never know it was missing something if I had not told you :)

I think it looks great. You would never know it was missing something if I had not told you 🙂

<

3 thoughts on “Hall Bench Before and After

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

