acrylics over decoupaged book pages

Elephants and Repurposed dictionary pages

acrylics over decoupaged book pages

Baby El. This Three Painted Owls original is done with acrylics over decoupaged vintage dictionary pages. The “canvas is a repurposed hollow interior door cut to size. Dimensions 36×38

How do elephants and dictionary pages go together? I thought I would show you a piece of art I created using a hollow interior door, vintage dictionary pages, and acrylic paint. I was inspired to start using these interior doors for my canvases after I found four or five laying around in my garage. I previously had these doors hinged together to use as a painted back drop for my booth at the Southern Women’s Show. (If you are not familiar with this Trade Show, it is a wonderful way to get your name out to literally thousands of people over a four day period). Well, since I was thinking of painting an elephant I knew I wanted a large canvas to paint on. When I spied the doors out in the garage I had a ah-ha moment. This is where Mr. Understanding comes in. When he heard I wanted to cut the doors in half and then somehow seal up the cut end…. being the understanding man he is and did I mention a carpenter to boot, I had two nice “canvases” to go in no time. They are light weight, smooth and a nice size for larger paintings. I got busy painted the background several colors, decoupaged on some vintage dictionary pages and started painting baby El. Next time you are wanting to start a painting project take a look around your home and maybe you will find an out of the ordinary canvas.

One thought on “Elephants and Repurposed dictionary pages

We would love to read what you think about this post. Leave your two cents here

